Some accidents have devastating consequences. Examples of personal injury accidents include truck and road accidents, dog bites, medical negligence, nursing home abuse, slip and fall accidents, and product defected-related injuries. Nevada is a fault state, which means that the at-fault party must pay a settlement for the damages suffered by other victims. If you ever end up in such an unfortunate situation, you need to find an injury attorney at the earliest. Below are some other aspects worth knowing.
Why do you need an injury attorney?
While the at-fault party cannot change things of the past, they can compensate the victim for their losses that directly result from the accident. The list includes lost wages, lost employment benefits, and current and future medical bills. In Nevada, it is also possible to recover punitive damages in some personal injury cases. Winning a settlement, however, can be tricky. No one wants to admit their fault, and the at-fault party’s insurer will do their best to minimize what they pay in settlements. You need help to deal with the insurance representative and also to investigate the accident. The good news is most injury attorneys in Nevada will only charge for their work if they win, which is called a contingency arrangement.
The statute of limitations
Following an accident that happened because of someone’s negligence, you are expected to take legal action within a reasonable time. The statute of limitations in Nevada allows two years to file a personal injury lawsuit from the date of the accident. If you do not take action within that deadline, you may lose your chances.
The modified comparative fault rule
It often happens that an accident is not just one person’s fault. For such cases, Nevada follows the modified comparative fault rule. For example – If you were involved in a road accident and were above the speeding limit when another crashed your vehicle, you could still be at partial fault for speeding. If your share of fault is marked as 20% and you are given $10,000 in the settlement, you will eventually get just $8,000. You cannot recover anything from the other party at fault if you are more than 50% to blame for the accident.
Check online to find more on the modified comparative fault rule and call an attorney to get advice on your injury case. Most lawyers do offer a free initial consultation.
The Editorial Team at Healthcare Business Today is made up of skilled healthcare writers and experts, led by our managing editor, Daniel Casciato, who has over 25 years of experience in healthcare writing. Since 1998, we have produced compelling and informative content for numerous publications, establishing ourselves as a trusted resource for health and wellness information. We offer readers access to fresh health, medicine, science, and technology developments and the latest in patient news, emphasizing how these developments affect our lives.